VfB quintet included: Master U 17 for the European Championship

The U-17 European Championships will take place in Israel from May 16 to June 1st. Almost two weeks before the start of the tournament, the 20 German players who will start the trip are now known – and the eleven who are on demand.

“We believe that the squad appointed for the final round in Israel represented the current status quo in 2005 for our country,” said master in the association’s press release. In the group phase, the DFB selection on May 16 (4.30 p.m.) in NES Ziona will meet Italy and on May 19 (4.30 p.m.) in Rishon Lezion on Luxembourg before the encounter with host Israel in Lod.

two teams per group move on

The two best group best qualify for the quarter -finals, which will be held on May 25th and 26th. The semi-finals on May 29 and the final on June 1 will take place in the Netanya Stadium in Netany.

Bayern Munich - Road to UCL Victory 2020

“For the days and weeks of the tournament, our team will of course try everything to get the highest level together and to be able to play a crucial role at the European Championship,” said Meister, who among other things a total of five players from VfB Stuttgart and four of Bayern Munich, including Paul Wanner, who was used four times in the Bundesliga. For all players, as for the 41 -year -old coach himself – it is the first big tournament in their career. “The upcoming European Championship is the next milestone of our players in their young DFB career,” said the coach. “We are really looking forward to this tournament.”

the DFB contingent at a glance

Tor: Tim Goller (Hertha BSC, 5 caps), Dennis Seimen (VfB Stuttgart, 4)
Field: Tom Bischof (TSG Hoffenheim, 12 caps, 6 goals), Tarek Buchmann (Bayern Munich, 6/0), Samuele di Benedetto (VfB Stuttgart, 8/0), Tim Drexler (TSG Hoffenheim, 6/ 1), Paulo Fritschi (VfB Stuttgart, 5/0), Arijon Ibrahimovic (Bayern Munich, 10/8), Maurice Krattenmacher (SpVgg Unterhaching, 4/2), Armend Likaj (FC Schalke 04, 6/0), Rafael Lubach (Borussia Dortmund, 6/1), Vincent Manuba (Bayern Munich, 4/0), Alexandre Nogueira Azevedo (VfB Stuttgart, 7/0), Dzenan Pejcinovic (FC Augsburg, 12/14), Sidney Raebiger (RB Leipzig, 7 /1), Philipp Schulz (1. FSV Mainz 05, 10/0), Laurin Ulrich (VfB Stuttgart, 11/3), Simon Walde (Borussia Mönchengladbach, 10/0), Paul Wanner (Bayern Munich, 9/3), Nelson Weiper (1. FSV Mainz 05, 11/10)

Trainer: Marc-Patrick Meister (*July 23, 1980, 15 games)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *